ACTRA Ottawa Our LeadershipNewsroomWhat's ShootingOur IndustryAwards

Find a Performer
John Dunsworth Screen Actors Fund
Low-Budget Agreements

Our Fight Is Not Yet Over!

Hello Everyone,

What a rally on Wednesday!  Thanks so much to all of you who came down to Province House and stood with our brothers and sisters in the film industry to make the Nova Scotia government sit up and take notice of our industry.  Screen Nova Scotia was thrilled with the turnout, and we were thousands strong!!  Branch Council was delighted to see so many of our members take part in this crucial event.  We enjoyed speaking with so many of you individually, love the pictures you are posting on social media, and so appreciated your rallying cries to get people walking by to sign the petition. From far and wide – in other parts of Canada, the United States, England and around the world – we have been very happy to hear that members were also able to tune in on the internet to watch the entire rally, streaming live with perfect picture quality and sound.  For those of you who spoke at the podium, including our National President Ferne Downey, thank you for your passionate and inspiring words.  We are so proud of the strong stand our membership has been taking in support of keeping the film tax credit. A big thank you also to Marc Almon, Scott Simpson and everyone at Screen Nova Scotia for pulling together this amazing event.

Our fight is not yet over, so please keep sending your letters to your MLAs, Premier Stephen McNeil and Finance Minister Diana Whalen.  As well, please write to your MPs.  Snail mail works best; it doesn’t have to be long, but the more personal you can make it – explaining how losing the film tax credit will affect you and your family – the better.  Please visit Screen Nova Scotia’s website and on Facebook to get a list of the MLAs in your area.

Finally, Branch Council would like to give a huge thanks to our wonderful staff: Eva MacGregor, Tami Thomson and Richard Hadley.  You are all really amazing and serve our membership so well, especially during this time of crisis.

Branch Council will continue to monitor events over the next few days and will keep you informed as quickly as possible.

Yours in solidarity,

Jamie Bradley, President

Francine Deschepper, Vice President

Jeff Schwager, Secretary

Andrea Dymond, Treasurer

Jeremy Webb, National Councillor

Mary-Colin Chisholm, Councillor

Chris Cuthbertson, Councillor

Kathryn McCormack, Councillor

Jacob Sampson, Councillor

Geneviève Steele Councillor

Shelley Thompson, Councillor

Gordon Patrick White, Councillor

And here is the list of the Members of the Legislative Assembly of Nova Scotia:




National News
To view all ACTRA National Press releases please click here
Local News
2018 Archives
2017 Archives
2016 Archives
2015 Archives
2014 Archives
2013 Archives
2012 Archives
2011 Archives
2010 Archives
Privacy  |  Legal Text  |  Site Map